“The Holiest Night of All” a Christmas Story by Raymond G. Candy (Chapter 2)

Chapter 2: A Special Night

The days were getting shorter and the nights were getting longer. It had turned colder and Mama began to bake every day.

She always baked a lot just before Christmas and there were good smells coming from the kitchen all the time.

I had guessed right about it almost being Christmas!

Brother’s day off from work came and they all left in the truck but I stayed home. It wasn’t long before they came back and there was the pretty green Christmas tree lying in the back.

I knew what to do this time. I stayed outside and played while they got the tree set up in the living room.

It wasn’t long before Mama went and got the Christmas boxes out of the storage shed.

I followed her back inside the house and we began to decorate the tree. Everyone was laughing and singing Christmas songs.

I sniffed inside the boxes and papers while Mom showed me all the colored balls and ornaments.

Dad and Brother wrapped the Christmas lights around the tree and when Dad turned them on they all lit up with bright colors.

Everyone went “Ahh” when they began to twinkle off and on.

The shiny ornaments were hung on the tree and there was even one that had “Jake” written on it.

When everyone was through they all talked about how pretty the tree was this year. Then everybody brought out the presents that had been hidden and placed them under the tree.

Everyone looked at how pretty their presents were wrapped and Brother even shook his and tried to guess what was inside.

Mom showed me my presents and I smelled them, but all I could smell was new plastic and rubber. Mom brought out the Christmas cookies and dog bones.

I had never seen my family so happy!

Then Dad said we were going to do something different this year. He turned on the radio and found a station playing Christmas carols.

He turned it down low, got his Bible from beside his chair, and he began to read.

He said that he was going to read the Christmas story.

I lay down beside Dad’s big brown chair and finished eating my dog biscuit, and Dad began to read.

I remember hearing him read about a man named Caesar, and taxes, and another man named Joseph with his wife Mary who was going to have a baby. And I began to get very sleepy.

And then I must have fallen asleep because that’s all I could remember.

jake in chair

MERRY CHRISTMAS JESUS IS THE REASON FOR THE SEASON

Tomorrow- Chapter 3- Where did Everyone Go?

Dec. 18-24: “The Holiest Night of All” (A Christmas Story by Raymond G. Candy for the kid in all of us)

Available for $9.99 at bn.com for the NOOK, amazon.com for the KINDLE, on iTunes at the iBookstore for the iPad, and at Lulu.com for all other e-reading devices

The Complete “Little Pig Dog” Collection Available for $9.99 at bn.com for the NOOK, amazon.com for the KINDLE, on iTunes at the iBookstore for the iPad, and at Lulu.com for all other e-reading devices

Leave a Reply

