Memoirs: Part 15- A Divine Appointment

“And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.”  (Rom. 8:28)

Bro. Sonny had become a tremendous soul-winner for Christ in the time since we had first met him during the street crusade. While we were in Weatherford, I would occasionally go with him as he went to make hospital visits or minister in the jail.

On one particular evening, I had gone with the Pastor to visit someone in the hospital, when on our way back home we saw a young man in the parking lot of a large grocery store with the hood up on his car. He was trying to start his car, but it acted as if the battery was dead.

“Do you need a boost?” Bro. Sonny asked as we pulled up.

The young man said, “I don’t know what’s wrong with it. I’ve got a new battery and a new starter and I can’t get it to do anything.”

“Well, maybe you’ve got a bad battery.” Bro. Sonny said, “Let’s put some booster cables on it and we’ll see if we can give you a boost.”

We attached the cables between our two cars, let it charge for a while, but still there was nothing. We checked the connections and if the battery had power. The connections were good and the battery had plenty of power, but the engine still would not turn over.

“I just don’t understand it,” the young man said, “you guys don’t understand. That’s a racing car battery. It will start an 18 wheeler.”

That’s when I remembered the time my truck wouldn’t start in order for me to lead a suicidal man to Christ. “Have you witnessed to him about Jesus?” I whispered to Sonny. “I thought you did.” he replied.

We both grabbed a tract out of our pockets and approached the young man who was sitting in his car still trying to get it to start.

Bro. Sonny spoke to him first. “Do you mind if I ask you something? We are both ministers and I believe that God has brought us together tonight for a reason. Do you know that Jesus loves you? Have you ever accepted Him as your Savior and been saved?”

He hung his head as he replied, “My Dad’s a preacher. He Pastors a Holiness Church on the other side of town. We don’t see eye to eye about things and I left home, but I know that he’s still praying for me.”

We shared with him about how God still loved him, wanted to forgive him of his sins, save him and restore his relationship with his Dad. His eyes filled with tears as he prayed, repented of his sins, and asked Christ into his heart.

After praying, I said, “Do you realize how much Jesus loves you? He did a miracle for you tonight by causing your car not to start just so you could be saved.”

He said, “Do you really think God did that?” By now, he was standing in the doorway of his car. I said, “Reach in there and turn the key.”

The car started immediately with the dual tailpipes rumbling. He began to rejoice and said that he needed to leave right away and go tell his father what had happened.

Bro. Sonny and I headed back to the Church, rejoicing as we went.

Next- A Little Story for Christmas: “The Holiest Night of All” (Part 1)

"The Servants of the Lord: Memoirs of Miracles and Evangelism"- Available for $4.99 at bn.com for the Nook, amazon.com for the Kindle, at the iBookstore on iTunes for the iPad, and at Lulu.com for the PC and all e-reading devices

“The Servants of the Lord: Memoirs of Miracles and Evangelism”- Available for $4.99 at bn.com for the Nook, amazon.com for the Kindle, at the iBookstore on iTunes for the iPad, and at Lulu.com for the PC and all e-reading devices

Leave a Reply

