A Little Story for Christmas: “Jake and the Holiest Night of All” (Part 4)

“And the angel said unto them, Fear not: for, behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy, which shall be to all people. For unto you is born this day in the city of David a Saviour, which is Christ the Lord. And this shall be a sign unto you; Ye shall find the babe wrapped in swaddling clothes, lying in a manger. And suddenly there was with the angel a multitude of the heavenly host praising God, and saying, Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace, good will toward men.”  (Luke 2:10-14)

I ran as fast as I could back to the town of Bethlehem. I got to the stable and ran through the door, and stopped.

I couldn’t believe my eyes!

There was Mary sitting by the manger and Joseph was standing by her side.

All of the animals were kneeling in their stalls. The shepherds from the field were there too, kneeling and looking into the manger. How did they get there before me?

And then I saw my family.

There was Mom and Dad and Brother. They were kneeling too and looking into the manger. I even saw Marvin. He was by Brother and was kneeling on the ground.

I couldn’t understand what was happening. How did everybody get here? Why was everyone kneeling and looking at the manger?

I started to say something, when suddenly there was the sound of a baby coming from inside the manger.

Everyone that was there turned and looked at me and smiled. They moved aside so that I could come and see.

Joseph looked at me and smiled and waved for me to come.

I walked up to the manger and gently put my head in over the side so that I could see.

There was a baby wrapped in linen rags and laid on the straw. He was so beautiful that it seemed like His face was shining.

But there was something special about this baby. Something Holy. He looked so noble and royal.

Even though He had just been born, it seemed that He had the face of a King.

I felt like I couldn’t keep standing while I was looking at Him.

So this was the baby that the angel told us about.

This was the Savior of the world. This was Christ the Lord.

I blinked while looking at the Savior, and when my eyes opened I was back lying on the floor next to Dad’s chair in our living room.

I was back home in the little gray house!

The lights on the tree were still shining and twinkling. Mama and Brother were still there too, and the Christmas carols were still playing softly on the radio.

Dad closed his Bible and said, “And that’s the Christmas story. That’s the real meaning of Christmas.”

So it had all been just a dream. But it had seemed so real!

I must have been listening to Dad read the Christmas story while I was sleeping and it made me have the strange dream. But maybe it wasn’t just a dream after all.

Maybe it was the Creator’s way of showing me what Christmas was really all about.

I had thought Christmas was all about the tree, and decorations, and presents. I thought it was these things that made Christmas the happiest time of the year.

But the angel of the Lord had said “peace on earth” and “good will toward men.” God had sent the Christ Child on that Holy night, a Savior to save the people from their sins.

That’s what makes people happy. That is the real Spirit and meaning of Christmas.

Everything else is nice, but without Christ the Lord, they really have no meaning at all.

It’s really not hard to understand.

Not even for a little black dog who grunts like a pig.

(MERRY CHRISTMAS FROM THE CANDY FAMILY AND JAKE)

Next- Memoirs Part 16: Sound Doctrine

Especially for Christmas by Raymond G. Candy: "Jake and the Holiest Night of All"-"The Christmas Story as seen through the eyes of Jake, the little dog who grunts like a pig." Suitable for all ages. $2.99 at bn.com for the NOOK, amazon.com for the Kindle, the iBookstore on iTunes for the iPad, and Lulu.com for other e-reading devices.

Especially for Christmas by Raymond G. Candy: “Jake and the Holiest Night of All”-“The Christmas Story as seen through the eyes of Jake, the little dog who grunts like a pig.” Suitable for all ages. $2.99 at bn.com for the NOOK, amazon.com for the Kindle, the iBookstore on iTunes for the iPad, and Lulu.com for other e-reading devices.

One thought on “A Little Story for Christmas: “Jake and the Holiest Night of All” (Part 4)

  1. LightWriters says:

    Blessed and Joyous Christmas and New Year ahead!

Leave a Reply

