Memoirs: Part 17- Spiritual Gifts

“But the manifestation of the Spirit is given to every man to profit withal. For to one is given by the Spirit the word of wisdom; to another the word of knowledge by the same Spirit;”  (1Cor. 12:7-8)

We returned to Dallas, and began working in our home Church: teaching Sunday school, helping in the praise and worship, holding services in nursing homes; waiting for the Lord to give us the new direction for the ministry that He had for us.

It was during this time that the Lord began to move upon my wife and use her in the gifts of prophecy and the word of knowledge. I witnessed one of many examples of this on a Saturday when Bro. Tony had transferred the prayer line to our home.

The prayer line’s number was 94-CARES. Our motto was “Jesus cares and so do we. Call 94-CARES”; thus many people would see this on a bumper sticker or television spot and would remember it.

That morning, the phone rang and there was a panicked voice of a young man on the other end.

“I’m riding my motorcycle from Dallas to Ft. Worth on Interstate 30 and I just realized my wallet is missing.”

He said, “It must have fallen out somewhere between home and here, and I have no idea where it could be. I remembered this number, and I’m calling to see if there is anyone there that God uses in the gift of the word of knowledge that might be able to tell me where it is.”

I told him to hold on, that sometimes God used my wife in such a way and perhaps He would tell her. Glenda got on the phone, listened to his story, and then prayed and asked the Lord if He might use her to help this young man.

After a few seconds, she spoke to him and said, “God told me to tell you that you didn’t lose your wallet, but that it is on the top of your dresser at home. He also said that if you would call home and ask Linda, she would tell you that it is there. By the way, if you don’t mind me asking, who is Linda? Is she your wife?”

The young man was silent for a while, and then said, “No, she’s not my wife. She is someone who had no place to stay and so I am letting her stay with me for a while.”

He hung up, and then called back a few moments later. “I called Linda,” he said, “and she said that the wallet was on the dresser just like you said. Thank you.”

Now I don’t believe that God uses His spiritual gifts just to help people find things. I believe that God wanted to reveal to this young man that nothing is hid from Him, not even the name of the woman living in his home.

God was developing spiritual gifts and putting together a ministry team for the next chapter of “The Servants of the Lord”.

Next- Memoirs: Part 18- “The Fragments that Remain”

"The Servants of the Lord: Memoirs of Miracles and Evangelism"- Available for $4.99 at bn.com for the Nook, amazon.com for the Kindle, at the iBookstore on iTunes for the iPad, and at Lulu.com for the PC and all e-reading devices

“The Servants of the Lord: Memoirs of Miracles and Evangelism”- Available for $4.99 at bn.com for the Nook, amazon.com for the Kindle, at the iBookstore on iTunes for the iPad, and at Lulu.com for the PC and all e-reading devices

Leave a Reply

