Memoirs: Part 18- “The Fragments that Remain”

“When they were filled, he said unto his disciples, Gather up the fragments that remain, that nothing be lost.”  (John 6:12)

It was at the end of a service in our home Church, when the Pastor said that if anyone needed prayer to raise his or her hand. A woman who was crying softly had raised her hand a few rows in front of us.

“Sister Candy, would you come and pray for this young lady?” the Pastor asked.

My wife went forward, put her arms around the young lady, and began to pray. When she returned to my side, she whispered, “I know her. Her name is Loretta. She used to work with me years ago when I worked at K-Mart.”

After the service, we found out that Loretta had a son about the same age as our daughter, and we developed an instant bond with her.

A few weeks later, we were together during Church, when a mighty presence of the Lord fell upon the congregation. There was a gentleman to my left that had his hands uplifted to God and was saying, “I love you Lord, I love you.”

He had a yearning in his voice that seemed to say, “I want to love you more.”

Then once again, I was in the Spirit and began to have a vision of the Lord.

In this vision, as the gentleman was reaching up toward Heaven saying, “I want to love you more”, the Lord was reaching down from Heaven toward his hand, when suddenly the Lord’s hand changed, and it became the hand of a beggar, then changed to the hand of a child dressed in rags, then to the hand of an elderly person.

The Lord then spoke and said, “Whatsoever ye do unto the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me.” and then the vision ended.

At the end of the service, I shared with the congregation what the Lord had shown me: that we can love Jesus more by loving those in need; that we can touch Jesus by touching those in need. I invited anyone who was willing, to come and go with us to our next nursing home service.

There were a few who accepted my invitation, including Loretta.

I believe that it takes a person with a special gift of faith to minister to those in great need on a regular basis; not to look at the need and say, “why?”, but to look at the need and say, “Look what God can do.”

Loretta was such a person. We discovered that she was a gifted singer and she began going and singing with us regularly in the nursing homes.

Soon after Loretta joined our ministry team, the Pastor of our Church came to me and said, “Bro. Candy, we have a minister that has just begun attending our services and I want to introduce you to him. His name is Bro. Allen, he’s a former Pastor from Austin, Texas, and I believe that he might be interested in helping your ministry.”

I met Bro. Allen and we instantly became friends. He also had a great burden and compassion for the elderly and infirmed that were confined to nursing homes. He began going and preaching with us as well, and our ministry team was complete.

Not long after, I was having my morning time of Bible reading and I was reading the account in the sixth chapter of the Gospel of John where Jesus fed the multitude with five loaves and two fishes.

The twelfth verse reads, “When they were filled, he said unto his disciples, Gather up the fragments that remain, that nothing be lost.” Those words leaped off the page to me.

The people we were seeing in the nursing homes: the lonely, the sick, the elderly; these were the broken fragments that remain. The Lord wanted us to gather them up quickly, that nothing be lost.

We needed to reach more, sooner, before it was too late. And what about the fragments that weren’t in a nursing home?

The home bound, the bedridden, the disabled and chronically ill; these too needed the anointing, deliverance, and message of salvation that we were bringing to the homes.

That evening I shared with all those in our ministry team what the Lord had shown me, and God began to give us a plan for the Servants of the Lord. We determined to hold our “revival” style services in all the nursing homes in the Dallas- Ft. Worth area.

Next- Memoirs: Part 19- “The Least of These”

"The Servants of the Lord: Memoirs of Miracles and Evangelism"- Available for $4.99 at bn.com for the Nook, amazon.com for the Kindle, at the iBookstore on iTunes for the iPad, and at Lulu.com for the PC and all e-reading devices

“The Servants of the Lord: Memoirs of Miracles and Evangelism”- Available for $4.99 at bn.com for the Nook, amazon.com for the Kindle, at the iBookstore on iTunes for the iPad, and at Lulu.com for the PC and all e-reading devices

Leave a Reply

