THE SPIRIT-FILLED LIFE: The Comforter

“But the Comforter, which is the Holy Ghost, whom the Father will send in my name, he shall teach you all things, and bring all things to your remembrance, whatsoever I have said unto you.”  (John 14:26)

The Bible teaches us that when we come to Christ and are born again, we become “…a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.” (2 Cor. 5:17)

God creates within us a new spirit, a new man, a new nature, born in His image, in the likeness of the Spirit of God.

He gives us new desires. He gives us a hunger for righteousness and holiness and a longing to please our Heavenly Father.

He sends the Holy Spirit to indwell us.

The Bible calls the Holy Spirit that indwells us the “Comforter”.

“And I will pray the Father, and he shall give you another Comforter, that he may abide with you forever;” (John 14:16)

“But the Comforter, which is the Holy Ghost, whom the Father will send in my name, he shall teach you all things, and bring all things to your remembrance, whatsoever I have said unto you.” (John 14:26)

“But when the Comforter is come, whom I will send unto you from the Father, even the Spirit of truth, which proceedeth from the Father, he shall testify of me:” (John 15:26)

“Nevertheless I tell you the truth; It is expedient for you that I go away: for if I go not away, the Comforter will not come unto you; but if I depart, I will send him unto you.” (John 16:7)

The word “Comforter” comes from the Greek word “parakletos” meaning “intercessor, consoler” or “advocate”, but it can also mean “a “helper called to one’s side”.

The “helper called to one’s side” refers to someone who would keep pace and run alongside the participant in a race until they were refreshed with the cooling water that their paraclete had brought.

He is our “intercessor” when we do not know how to pray,

“Likewise the Spirit also helpeth our infirmities: for we know not what we should pray for as we ought: but the Spirit itself maketh intercession for us with groanings which cannot be uttered.” (Rom 8:26)

He is our “consoler” when He brings to our remembrance the Word of God and “opens to us” the Scriptures.

“But the Comforter, which is the Holy Ghost, whom the Father will send in my name, he shall teach you all things, and bring all things to your remembrance, whatsoever I have said unto you.” (John 14:26)

“And they said one to another, Did not our heart burn within us, while he talked with us by the way, and while he opened to us the scriptures?” (Luke 24:32)

He is our “advocate” when we do not know what to say but He gives us the anointing and speaks through us with authority.

“But when they shall lead you, and deliver you up, take no thought beforehand what ye shall speak, neither do ye premeditate: but whatsoever shall be given you in that hour, that speak ye: for it is not ye that speak, but the Holy Ghost.” (Mark 13:11)

He is the “Helper called to our side” when He refreshes us, anoints us, and strengthens us to continue to run the race that is set before us.

“And it shall come to pass in that day, that his burden shall be taken away from off thy shoulder, and his yoke from off thy neck, and the yoke shall be destroyed because of the anointing.” (Isa. 10:27)

“For with stammering lips and another tongue will he speak to this people. To whom he said, This is the rest wherewith ye may cause the weary to rest; and this is the refreshing: yet they would not hear.” (Isa. 28:11-12)

The Holy Spirit is our strength, He is our comfort, He is our confidence, He is our Wisdom, He is our best Friend, He is the lover and keeper of our soul, He is the earnest (the proof) of our inheritance, and He is the One who will never leave us nor forsake us.

He is also the One who will quicken, make alive, and change our mortal body so that we can arise and meet the Lord in the air.

And He will fill us to the overflowing and walk in us every day if we will only ask Him to.

Through the power of the Holy Spirit who comes to dwell within us, the Comforter sent by God empowers our new man to walk after and seek after those things which are right.

However, we still dwell in the same old fleshly body that has the same old sin nature. And therein lies the war.

“For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh,) dwelleth no good thing: for to will is present with me; but how to perform that which is good I find not. For the good that I would I do not: but the evil which I would not, that I do.” (Rom. 7:18-19)

“Now if I do that I would not, it is no more I that do it, but sin that dwelleth in me. I find then a law, that, when I would do good, evil is present with me.” (Rom. 7:20-21)

“For I delight in the law of God after the inward man: But I see another law in my members, warring against the law of my mind, and bringing me into captivity to the law of sin which is in my members.” (Rom. 7:22-23)

“O wretched man that I am! Who shall deliver me from the body of this death? I thank God through Jesus Christ our Lord. So then with the mind I myself serve the law of God; but with the flesh the law of sin.” (Rom. 7:24-25)

The Apostle Paul says that it is God through Jesus Christ our Lord who shall deliver us in this war between the flesh and the spirit; however we seem to find ourselves many times taking two steps forward, yielding to temptation, and taking one step back.

The key to being an overcomer and winning the victory over the flesh is to walk in the Spirit.

“This I say then, Walk in the Spirit, and ye shall not fulfil the lust of the flesh.” (Gal 5:16)

If walking in the Spirit is the key to victory, ignorance of knowing how to walk in the Spirit is the pathway to destruction.

My people are destroyed for lack of knowledge: because thou hast rejected knowledge, I will also reject thee…” (Hos. 4:6)

God is not willing that any should perish (2 Peter 3:9), but has promised that those who hunger and thirst for righteousness shall be filled (Matt. 5:6).

The Lord has provided the answers in His Word to those who are willing to search, but like the parables that Jesus told, they are hidden to those who are without.

It is the glory of God to conceal a thing: but the honour of kings is to search out a matter.” (Prov. 25:2)

Since the Bible says that we shall reign as kings and priests with Christ, it is our honor to search out the hidden truths.

Next- The Spirit Filled Life: The Adversary

Available for $2.99 at bn.com for the Nook, amazon.com for the Kindle, the iBookstore on iTunes for the iPad, and Lulu.com for the PC and all other e-reading devices

Available for $2.99 at bn.com for the Nook, amazon.com for the Kindle, the iBookstore on iTunes for the iPad, and Lulu.com for the PC and all other e-reading devices

Leave a Reply

