PARABLES FOR THE YOUNG AT HEART: The Dog Who Grunts Like a Pig (Part 1)

A merry heart doeth good like a medicine: but a broken spirit drieth the bones.”  (Prov. 17:22)

The first thing I remembered was- that I couldn’t remember anything. My feet were tired and sore. I must have traveled a long, long way. I was hungry and thirsty, and the leather collar around my neck was too tight.

Oh Wait! I do remember something. This rusty wire that’s hanging from my collar: I think that I must have been tied to a chain, or a rope that broke, or…?

Oh, I don’t know. I just can’t seem to remember anything.

And trying to remember was beginning to make my head hurt, so I’m just not going to try anymore. After all, I can do whatever I want to now.

There aren’t any of those people around here that are always telling someone like me what to do.

“Don’t sit there. Don’t eat that. COME BACK HERE! GET OUT OF MY GARBAGE!”

Oooh, there goes that remembering thing again and it makes my head hurt even more.

I’m just going to lie here under this tree and enjoy the cool shade and soft grass. But then again, I have this thirsty and hungry thing going on in my mouth and tummy.

Oh my, what’s a little black dog to do?

That’s right; I’m a little black dog.

Well, not really all black. I’ve got these cute brown spots over my eyes, so that when I’m asleep it looks like I’ve got these big brown eyes still staring at you. Pretty cool, huh?

And I’ve got brown on the sides of my face, and under my chin, on my four paws, and Oh, get this… I’ve got a white furry bottom!

Can you believe that? A little black dog with a white furry bottom! Who would’ve thought? All in all, a pretty good looking dog if I do say so myself.

Actually, I’m kind of fierce looking, now that I think of it. And I should know. I scared myself when looked in that pool of water a couple of days ago. I thought it was a wolf or a coyote looking back at me.

A couple of days ago.

Had it been that long since I’ve had anything to drink? Oh well, maybe if I just close my eyes and lie here, I can drift off to sleep and not think about it.

After all, if anyone sees me, they’ll think that I’m staring at them with these big brown spots over my eyes. I still think that’s pretty cool. Maybe I’ll dream of something really good to eat.

I woke up with the smell of something wonderful filling my nose.

I must have slept most of the afternoon. The sun was going down and the trees were casting long shadows over the grassy field.

That wonderful smell caused my hungry tummy to hurt even worse.

Then I saw something move across the field on the other side of the fence and behind the trees. I have excellent vision.

My ears perked up straight and tall because I have excellent hearing too. I could hear the rustling behind the trees.

Could that smell be coming from there?

I crouched down in my slinky, creeping position. That’s how I can sneak up on things.

Slowly crouching and creeping, I made my way across the grassy field to the fence and peeked through the trees. In the shadows I could make out what was causing the noise.

Just a couple of old, dumb cows!

The wind changed for a second and I got a good whiff of their smell.

Ewww!”

That certainly wasn’t the wonderful smell that woke me up.

I started to ask those stinky cows if they could please tell me where a hungry, lost dog might find something good to eat, when suddenly something caught my eye down at the other end of the field.

As the sun was going down and it was beginning to get dark, a light had just been turned on in the window of a small gray house on the other side of a big gate.

The wind changed again, this time coming from the little gray house.

Oh my, what a wonderful smell floated across that grassy field.

Forget the creeping, crouching, and sneaking!

I broke out into a full run as I remembered what that smell was:

FOOD!

Delicious, tasty, wonderful food.

I almost ran head first into the gate before I could stop myself. I sat and looked up at the open window that the light and the smells were coming from.

Every once in a while, a silver haired lady passed back and forth in front of it.

I don’t know if it was the hunger in my tummy or the tears in my eyes, but when she passed by, she looked just like an angel to me.

If this was the person that made the food that smelled so good, I knew that I was going to have to introduce myself to her.

And with such a kind face, maybe she would be good to a lonely little black dog.

And maybe, just maybe, this would be the place that I had felt driven to find.

A home, the desire of my heart.

It was dark now, and the stars began to twinkle in the clear spring sky. I walked slowly back to my spot under the cedar tree, lied down, and looked lovingly at the little window in the gray house.

Yes, definitely tomorrow I must introduce myself.

I fell asleep thinking of angels, and warm tasty meals, and soft comfy beds. How could anyone not like a little black dog with brown spots over his eyes and a white furry bottom?

(TO BE CONTINUED)

Next- PARABLES FOR THE YOUNG AT HEART: The Dog Who Grunts Like a Pig (Part 2)

photo

Available for $6.99 at Amazon, the IBookstore, Lulu.com, and BarnesandNoble.com

Leave a Reply

