PARABLES FOR THE YOUNG AT HEART: The Dog Who Grunts Like a Pig (Part 2)

A merry heart doeth good like a medicine: but a broken spirit drieth the bones.”  (Prov. 17:22)

The sound of the birds chirping and the cows mooing caused me to wake up from the deep sleep I was in. I opened my eyes, and was startled for a moment, not remembering where I was.

Then I remembered.

The long journey, no food, no water, and finally here, under the cool shade of a cedar tree next to a field. I saw the house and I remembered the good smells and the lady with the kind face.

I must go and introduce myself.

I stood up, yawned and stretched, but before I could do anything, I heard a voice coming from the window in the little gray house.

“Raymond, can you come look out at the back? I believe that’s a dog out in our back field.”

Oh no! That was the silver haired lady with the kind face. I had been discovered before I could properly introduce myself.

What if she wasn’t so kind after all? And who is this Raymond? What if he doesn’t care at all about brown spots and furry white bottoms?

I crouched as low into the grass as I could go. Maybe if I couched low enough they might not see me at all. Maybe she would think it was just her imagination.

“You mean that black shadow out there under the cedar tree? I think that’s just a shadow.”

This voice was soft but deep. It must be Raymond.

“No, it’s not a shadow. I definitely saw him move his head. See, there he goes again. He moved.”

I had to shoo away a pesky fly. I just couldn’t help myself.

“Yeah, I saw him move too. He’s a dog all right. Almost looks like a wolf. He probably wandered away from someone, and he’ll go home soon, or someone will come looking for him. Just so he’s gone by the time I have to mow tomorrow.”

I don’t know what this mowing is that they were talking about, but I’m not planning on going anywhere. Where would I go? I don’t remember where I came from.

And judging by this rusty wire hanging from my collar, I don’t think anyone is ever going to come looking for me.

I do not believe that I was loved very much in that faraway place that I came from. No, I am definitely going to take my chances here. I know the silver haired lady did have a kind face.

Perhaps she will feel sorry for me, and throw some scraps of food out to a lonely lost dog with nowhere to go.

But no food appeared. No scraps. No water.

The day passed by slowly and no one came. Perhaps I was wrong. Perhaps this was not my new home, the desire of my heart.

But I knew deep within my soul that the Creator had led me to this place, and He does not make mistakes.

Perhaps He drew me here for this to be my final resting spot. After all, it was nice and peaceful here under the cedar tree.

I fell into a fitful sleep as the sun went down, only to be awakened in the middle of the night by a terrible lightning and thunderstorm. Each flash and boom made me jump and whimper.

I was scared, and the cold rain made me shiver.

Perhaps coming here was wrong after all.

The next day was much like the one before it. The sun did come out and dry up everything that the storm had gotten wet the night before.

At least I had been able to lap a little water from a puddle before it disappeared.

I thought briefly about leaving, but my instincts would not let me go. So I just lay there all day. If this spot under the tree was to be my final home, so be it.

I wonder if they know that I’m still here.

I wonder if they care.

Voices awoke me from sleep. I must have dozed off again because the sun was now beginning to go down. It was the silver haired lady with the kind face.

“That dog is still out there. I know he must be hungry. I am not going to sit here and watch a dog starve to death.”

What? They do care! Perhaps there was hope after all.

“Well, if you do feed him just drop a bowl over the fence,” Raymond said. “And be careful! We don’t know how vicious he is.”

Vicious?

Who, me?

So that was it. They were afraid of me.

The back door opened, and my silver haired angel walked out to the big gate, opened it, and set a bowl on the ground just outside the fence.

As hungry as I was, I controlled myself. I mustn’t run and scare her. She walked back to the little gray house, went inside, and off I went.

As fast as I could, I ran to the bowl and gobbled down the delicious food that was inside. The hunger slipped away as my empty belly began to fill.

The sun was almost set, and I could already see beady little eyes peering at my bowl from the trees.

“My bowl”.

That sounded good. Well, if it was my bowl, then it should stay with me. I picked it up with my teeth and trotted back to my spot under the cedar tree.

I nestled it between my paws and lay my head against it.

The stars began to appear in the night sky as I thought, “Yes, tomorrow must be a day of proper introductions if I am ever going to see my bowl filled up again.”

(TO BE CONTINUED)

Next- PARABLES FOR THE YOUNG AT HEART: The Dog Who Grunts Like a Pig (Part 3)

photo

Available for $6.99 at Amazon, the IBookstore, Lulu.com, and BarnesandNoble.com

Leave a Reply

